2018 Summer Work Travel Program

The U.S. Embassy in Tirana will begin accepting Summer Work Travel Applications (SWT) on March 1, 2018. In previous years, Albanian students have traveled to different cities across the United States where they experienced American culture firsthand through SWT. They in turn shared their culture and language with their host communities and provided a mutually beneficial cross-cultural exchange experience.

To participate in the 2018 Summer Work Travel Program, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • They must be full-time students at currently accredited universities/colleges who have completed at least one semester of post-secondary education.
  • They must have a good command of the English language and a strong academic record.
  • Each student must be able to show that s/he will return to Albania at the conclusion of the program. Final-year students may apply, though they may have more difficulty proving sufficient ties to Albania. Less than one year of university may not be deemed a sufficiently significant investment in one’s education to establish ties to Albania.
  • They must have a confirmed, vetted job placement in the United States at the time of interview.

Part-time students, as well as those attending vocational, distance learning, and secondary schools for adults do not qualify for the Summer Work Travel program.

We cannot approve Summer Work Travel visas for students who are not attending a fully accredited institution. Students who are attending accredited programs within unaccredited institutions will also not be accepted. The Embassy cannot approve any applications that do not meet the criteria above.

Only students from the following institutions may participate:

  • Akademia e Filmit dhe Multimedias “Marubi”
  • Akademia e Forcave të Armatosura
  • Akademia Profesionale e Biznesit
  • Kolegji Profesional i Tiranës
  • Kolegji Profesional Privat, “Ivoclar Vivadent & Partners”
  • Kolegji Universitar “Bedër”
  • Kolegji Universitar “Instituti Kanadez i Teknologjisë”
  • Kolegji Universitar “LOGOS”
  • Kolegji Universitar “Luarasi”
  • Kolegji Universitar “Pavarësia Vlorë”
  • Kolegji Universitar “REALD”
  • Kolegji Universitar “WISDOM”
  • Shkolla e lartë universitare, jopublike, “Universiteti “Marin Barleti””
  • Shkolla e Larte “Nehemia”
  • Shkolla private e arsimit të lartë, “Universiteti Metropolitan Tirana”
  • Tirana Business University College
  • Universiteti Bujqësor i Tiranës
  • Universiteti Europian i Tiranës
  • Universiteti i Arteve
  • Universiteti i Elbasanit “Aleksandër Xhuvani”
  • Universiteti i Mjekësisë, Tiranë
  • Universiteti i Sporteve të Tiranës
  • Universiteti i Tiranës
  • Universiteti Katolik “Zoja e Këshillit të Mirë”
  • Universiteti Polis
  • Universiteti Politeknik i Tiranës
  • Universiteti Privat “Albanian University”
  • Universiteti “Aldent”
  • Universiteti “Aleksandër Moisiu”, Durrës
  • Universiteti “EPOKA”
  • Universiteti “Eqrem Çabej”, Gjirokastër
  • Universiteti “Fan S. Noli”, Korçë
  • Universiteti “Ismail Qemali”, Vlorë
  • Universiteti “Luigj Gurakuqi”, Shkodër
  • Universiteti “Mesdhetar i Shqipërisë”
  • Universiteti i New York-ut në Tiranë

If your school is not listed here, we cannot approve your application for a SWT visa.

The Embassy will continue to monitor developments in the educational system and revise this guidance as needed.