Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Tirana, Albania

(July 6, 2020)

Location:  Albania 

Event:  On July 1, the European Council (EC) extended restrictions on U.S. citizens entering the 27 European Union (EU) countries, the United Kingdom, and the non-EU Schengen states of Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein.  Exceptions to these restrictions include passengers in transit.  However, U.S. citizen travelers transiting more than one city in the EU and non-EU Schengen countries may not be allowed to board flights departing from Albania.

For entry requirements in the country you plan to transit, we recommend you visit the website of the U.S. Embassy in that country prior to traveling.

Please see the full EC decision here: EC Press Release