Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Tirana, Albania

Location:  Albania

Event:  The Albanian government continues to loosen COVID-19-related restrictions throughout the country.  Tirana, Durres, Kavaja, Kurbin and Shkodra remain designated as “red zones” and have additional restrictions relative to the rest of the country.  Travel between red and green zones is still prohibited.

New changes that take effect on Monday, May 18, 2020, include:
  • Pedestrians and vehicles may circulate within red and green zones without permits.
  • The curfew in red zones is extended to 9:00 p.m. and there is no curfew in green zones.
  • Vehicles are not permitted on the roads on Saturdays and Sundays.
  • Restaurants with outdoor seating areas are permitted to operate in both red and green zones.

Monitor Embassy Tirana’s website for more information on COVID-19 restrictions throughout the country.  Email with questions.


Note:  The timestamp on this e-mail message may reflect Washington, D.C., time, which may differ from local time.